Customer Groups can be used to group together Customers based on shared characteristics . Customers in a Customer Group will be displayed with a visual indicator in the Sales Interface, Scanning Interface and Opportunities Interface.
Setting up and managing Customer Groups takes place in the Admin Interface. Customer Groups are visible in the Sales Interface, Scanning Interface and Opportunities Interface.
| User Permissions | General Administrator User Role |
What are Customer Groups?
Customer Groups are used to group together Customers based on Customer Criteria, such as active Subscriptions, Tags, and Customer Attributes.
A Customer Group will add a visual indicator on a Customer Record in the Sales Interface, Scanning Interface and Opportunities Interface to flag they belong to the group.
You can create multiple Customer Groups with their own Customer Criteria and assigned color. Customers can be part of multiple Customer Groups.
Customer Groups are for internal use, and customers will not be able to see Customer Group information online.
You can use Customer Groups as a prompt, for example:
- To identify Members eligible for certain benefits. For example, to let the front of house staff know to offer a free program.
- To highlight Customers with accessibility requirements so the front of house staff can offer assistance.
- To identify Customers who haven’t provided an email address. You can use Customer Groups to remind box office staff to ask the Customer for an email address.
TIP: Customer Groups power scanning and validating Customers in the Scanning Interface. Use this feature to validate a variety of Customers, including Membership holders. Spektrix also offers Digital Customer Passes for Membership Purchases to allow you to create the ID’s required for this workflow.
Customer Groups are not used for Customer Eligibility in other features such as Priority Booking, Offers, Pre- and Post-Event Emails, etc., and aren't used in segmentation and reporting.
They also cannot be used to search for Customers belonging in a group.
How do Customer Groups appear on a Customer Record?
Customer Groups appear on a Customer Record in the following places:
- In the Customer Search of the Sales Interface
- When a Ticket is scanned in the Scanning Interface
- When a Customer ID is scanned in the Scanning Interface
- In the People Dashboard of the Opportunities Interface
-
Sales Interface
In the Customer Search of the Sales Interface, the Customer Group appears as a tab with the Customer Group Name and a border around the Customer Record, both the same color:
TIP: Customer Groups do not appear in the Customer Record itself.
If a Customer is in more than one Customer Group, the Customer Groups will appear as additional tabs in the order of highest priority. Hover over the second tab to read the Customer Group Name.
In this example the Donor Group appears first and the VIP $500+ appears second:
To learn how to change the order in which Customer Groups appear, read How do I reorder Customer Groups?.
-
Ticket Scan
When a Ticket is scanned in the Scanning Interface, the Customer Group appears with a dot of its selected color and the Customer Group Name below the Customer’s Name:
If a Customer is in more than one Customer Group, the Customer Groups will be listed in the order of highest priority. To learn how to change the order in which Customer Groups appear, read How do I reorder Customer Groups?.
-
Customer ID Scan
When a Customer ID is scanned and validated in the Scanning Interface, the Customer Group appears with a dot of its selected color and the Customer Group Name below the Customer’s Name:
If a Customer is in more than one Customer Group that has been selected for validation, the Customer Groups are listed in the order of highest priority. To learn how to change the order in which Customer Groups appear, read How do I reorder Customer Groups?.
Only the Customer Groups selected for validation will appear and Customer Groups that haven’t been selected won’t appear, even if a Customer is in that group. For more information, read Scanning and Validating Customers in the Scanning Interface.
-
Opportunities Interface
In the People Dashboard of the Opportunities Interface, Customer Groups appear under the column Groups with the Customer Group Name in a label of its selected color:
TIP: Customer Groups do not appear in the Customer Record itself.
If a Customer is in more than one Customer Group, the Customer Groups will be listed in the order of highest priority. To learn how to change the order in which Customer Groups appear, read How do I reorder Customer Groups?.
Where do I set up and manage Customer Groups?
Customer Groups are created and managed in the Admin Interface > Customers > Customer Groups:
All Customer Groups will be listed in order of Priority and will include the Customer Group Name and a border in their selected color.
From here, you can add new Customer Groups, edit or delete existing Customer Groups and reorder your Customer Groups.
How do I set up Customer Groups?
To add a new Customer Group:
- Navigate to Customer Groups
- In the lower right of the screen, click + Add
Complete these sections in the New Customer Group screen:
1. Basic Details
Complete the Basic Details to set up your Customer Group:
- Name (Required): Give your Customer Group a clear, descriptive name. This name is visible in the Sales Interface, Scanning Interface and Opportunities Interface.
- Description: Enter a description to detail what the Customer Group is for. This is only visible in the Admin Interface.
- Color: Select the color for the visual indicator of the Customer Group. A preview is available for how the tab and label will look.
- Blink: Check this option if you want the border to flash in the Sales Interface. This is not available for the other Interfaces.
-
Visible in Scanning Interface: Check this option if you want to display the Customer Group in the Scanning Interface.
TIP: This is required for scanning and validating Customers in the Scanning Interface.
Click Next for Customer Criteria. You can also click Cancel to abandon the Customer Group.
2. Customer Criteria
Select which Customers should be in the Customer Group based on Customer Criteria:
To learn more about how to choose specific Customer Eligibility Criteria, including combining multiple criteria, read Customer Eligibility.
Once setup is completed and saved, you’ll only see the Customer Criteria you have selected, in order to streamline the view. When you edit the Customer Group, the full Customer Eligibility Criteria tool will be visible.
Click Ok to save your new Customer Group. You can also click Back to go to the Basic details or Cancel to abandon the Customer Group.
How do I add or remove a Customer from a Customer Group?
Customers are automatically added to a Customer Group if they meet the Customer Criteria. They are also automatically removed if they no longer meet the Customer Criteria.
If a Customer has not been added or removed from a Customer Group, check their Customer Record to see if the Customer meets the requirements.
You may need to adjust the Customer Criteria.
How do I manage a Customer Group?
Once you’ve created a Customer Group, you can make changes to any of the Basic details or Customer criteria.
To edit a Customer Group:
- Navigate to Customer Groups.
- Find the Customer Group you’d like to edit.
- Click Edit.
- Go to the section you’d like to edit and click Edit.
- Make your changes.
- Click Save. You can also click Cancel to discard any changes.
All changes are effective immediately. Any changes to the Customer Criteria may add or remove Customers from the Customer Group.
How do I reorder Customer Groups?
You can change the order in which Customer Groups are displayed.
To reorder Customer Groups:
- Navigate to Customer Groups
-
Next to a Customer Group you’d like to move, click on the arrow:
- Click Up to move up one spot
- Click Down to move down one spot
All changes are effective immediately.
How do I delete a Customer Group?
You can delete Customer Groups, which will remove the visual indicator from a Customer Record.
WARNING: Deleting a Customer Group is permanent and cannot be recovered.
To delete a Customer Group:
- Navigate to Customer Groups
- Find the Customer Group you’d like to delete
- Click Delete
-
Confirm that you’d like to delete the Customer Group by clicking Confirm. You can also click Cancel to keep the Customer Group